Blueberry and Banana Oatmeal smoothie

bb

Have you ever wondered how did I come about on having inspirations to make smoothie recipes? I always loved smoothies as they are not only delicious but healthy as well. But, in the past, I always thought that making a smoothie often requires only a few specific ingredients or fruits that can be blended into a smoothie (how funny of me -.-). Well, after watching my favourite TV show -Masterchef US starring Gordan Ramsay, Christina Tosi and other celebrity chefs such as ‘Wolfgang Puck’ or guest like Aaron Sanchez ( if you watch this show too, kudos to you!), I realise that creating food or even drinks are limitless, that you can create any food using your creativity as I get overwhelmed whereby all the contestants have an access to their dream pantry which is filled with the all kinds of food ingredients from protein meat to dessert. Well, how that’s nice if I could join such competition and have a full access to the limitless amount of ingredients that I might never come across (if only I had the potential to cook like a master chef).

Anyway, let’s get back to topic. To be honest, in my 22 years of living on this earth (lol), I have never tested a blueberry in my life (yes, don’t laugh!). This is because, blueberries are imported fruits in Malaysia, hence being sold at a high price. Anyway, back to the show, the judges from MasterChef  often emphasise the importance of making full use of any ingredient we have and from there, elevating to a better dish. Well, for me at least trying to work on ingredients that I never work with before had pulled an interest to me as I am able to use my creativity and experiment with it. To be honest, I hated eating oats, it tasted so bland. But to try to eat healthily, I tried to be creative with my food by blending up rolls oats, blueberry, banana and milk as part of my ingredients for this smoothie.

Now, let’s go through the preparation needed to make this smoothie!

bb 2.jpg

Ingredients per serving :

  • 1 cup of traditional roll oatmeal
  • A handful of blueberry
  • 3 teaspoon of chia seed
  • 1 1/2 cup of milk or can opt for (almond milk)

Preparation:

  1. First of all cut the banana into chunks of smaller pieces.
  2. Pour the roll oatmeal, milk, blueberry and banana into the blender.
  3. Blend until it becomes smooth.
  4. Pour in glass over ice and top it off with chia seed.

Surprisingly, it tasted better than what I expected. And I feel good drinking this smoothie as I knew how healthy it is to consume this drink. For oatmeal itself, it helps our body to tone down low- density lipoprotein (LDL) that is named as a bad cholesterol. The nutrition that was contained in it includes protein, complex carbohydrates. Therefore, if a person has a consistent habit of consuming oatmeal, it is believed that it can help to reduce weight. Adding on, blueberry contained fiber and water which instantly make you feel full, satisfying for a sweet tooth lover. As you know banana is packed with potassium and have a low Glycemic index. Moreover, they were low in fats and calories and high in fibers which mean that it help to boost the metabolism rate and most importantly speed up the digestion process.

nutritionlabel-blueberry-banana-page-001

Well, friends if you hate eating oatmeals on its own like I did, I recommend you to try this smoothie as it really tasted much better!

Leave a Reply

