Tomato Beef Pasta

speg 2.jpg

Pasta is one of my favourite food. If I were to choose a western meal for dinner, I would 100% in no doubt go for spaghetti. You know that pasta can be cooked in many different ways/ methods, and they have many different variations of noodle and sauces. What is your favourite kind of pasta? My personal favourite kind of pasta would be tomato beef bolognese.

speg 4.jpg

When I was younger, I often bugged my mum to bring me out to a restaurant for pasta but she would often dismiss me and told me that it was very expensive to eat pasta outside ( it cost an estimate of Rm15 per serving in a restaurant in Malaysia). Hence, she decided to personally cook my family and me tomato beef spaghetti for dinner. I was mind blown by its taste as it tasted even better than what was served outside so I decided to learn the recipe from her. After mastering this recipe, whenever I have a get together with my friends, or a potluck, I would often cook this dish for them and I often get complimented of its taste.

speg-5

Many students have the mindset that cooking a plate of pasta is extremely challenging with its complication in the ingredients or preparation needed. Hence, when they see someone who can cook pasta, they will be amazed. But do you know that you yourself can cook one too? I am here to share with all of you how to prepare this dish. Let’s head to the ingredients and preparation needed to make this dish. It takes an estimate of 15 minutes to prepare, with an overall of 25 minutes to be done.

speg ing.jpg

Ingredients for 4 servings :

  • 1 packet of spaghetti
  • 2 cups of minced beef
  • 1 cups of mushroom
  • 1 cups of onion
  • 1 tablespoon of garlic
  • 1 and 1/5 cups of tomato sauce
  • 1 teaspoon of black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon of dried oregano (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon of sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of olive/vegetable oil
  • 1 cup of tomato
  • 1/2 cup of water

Preparation :

  1. Turn on medium heat, pour in the oil and fry the garlic until golden brown
  2. Add in the onions, mushroom and minced beef and cook until the minced beef turn brown
  3. Add the tomato sauce, black pepper, dried oregano and sugar
  4. Add in 1/2 cups of water and let it cook for 5-10 minutes
  5. Add the tomato and cook for 2 minutes

pack

Look, how simple and easy it is to cook this plate of tomato beef pasta. I don’t find any excuse for you to say that it is difficult because it definitely isn’t! All you need to do are just to prepare all the simple ingredients needed that you can easily find at your nearby supermarket, and start cooking this flavourful, delicious sauce and pour it over your favourite choice of pasta. And there you go! I believe you will love it as much as I do! Do give it a try and you can pack to bring it for lunch to your university or make one for your friends too. 🙂

pack2

Many people think that eating pasta is fattening and unhealthy. But do you know that by consuming this plate of tomato beef pasta can enrich your health? Well, yes it does if you consume a lot, so do take note to eat a right portion. Starting off, as the pasta noodles are made of flour, it is a perfect source of carbohydrate alongside the nutrients provided such as vitamins, minerals, and fibers. Adding on to the tomato sauce, it adds nutrients to your diet, providing vitamin A, C, calcium, iron. Lycopene is a form of powerful antioxidants that prevents a certain type of cancer. This was supported by Daily Mail that if someone couldn’t complete their portions of pasta,  keeping it and reheating pose health benefit by reducing the risk of cancer. Hence, you can keep in your refrigerator and eat it on the next day! How awesome can it be?

nutritionlabel-spagetthi-page-001

One thought on “Tomato Beef Pasta

Leave a Reply

